Update – “I’m Back!”

Studio 19 Logo

“I’ve been busy” is a terrible excuse for not keeping up with something you enjoy. I like the idea of blogging, but… I’ve been busy. Busy has been mostly a good thing. Life is good. My family is well. I have wonderful students.

Now, let’s get caught up.

In my last blog, I talked about starting a multimedia program at my school. I think our first year was successful. Students worked in “Studio 19” in a 21st Century Learning/Project-based environment. We used media tools such as MS Office, Photoshop Elements, Premiere Elements, and Audacity to create presentations, displays, and videos. We finished the year with our first annual La Pantera Student Video Festival and Awards Show with a red carpet entrance, tympani drum rolls, and scaled-down Oscar-style “Pantera” trophies. Those students did a lot of writing, designing, and problem-solving.

As good as it sounds, we can do better. Photoshop Elements, Premiere Elements, a digital still camera and two Flip camcorders were donated from generous sources, but the six computers we have are several years old and could barely handle our work load. We had to limit the number of students due to lack of equipment. Support from the school district was felt in the form of moral support, but not financial or technical. This was also very limiting, and at times, highly frustrating.

Year two has begun. Unfortunately, there has been no change in the equipment/technical/financial department. But, at the heart of all this are my students. Maybe they’re not all creative geniuses, but I enjoy being someone who allows them the opportunity to become one.

~ by Kimball on November 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
