What do I want to be when I grow up?

I just turned 50 and I’m still working on it.

If you had asked me that question when I was five years old, I’d tell you I wanted to be a Beatle. My parents have tapes of me with my plastic guitar, singing my version of “Hard Day’s Night”. (My lyrics were a little off.)

In first grade, I traded my guitar for my brother’s drums and it stuck.

I went to college with some clothes and my drumset. I played in a few bands but I worked at KUOP-FM. I wrote and recorded promos, produced a couple of shows, and did a little on-air talent.

After college, I ended up back behind my drumset. Being a rock musician in L.A. doesn’t always pay the rent, so I also worked as a substitute teacher. I was encouraged to consider teaching as a career. I liked it. Everyday was different. I was doing something positive. I decided to get a credential and use my talents to teach.

Really, it was never about being a rock star. I wanted to be creative. I wanted to be an example to someone else. I wanted to be myself and to be valued.

Twenty-two years later, I’m still a teacher. Of course, I also still play the drums. And I’m darn good.

~ by Kimball on May 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
